Mini Moïra Fowley-Doyle Reviews

For day 8 of #Blogtober, I’m going to fulfil one of my goals for September!

I was aiming to write a book review per week and today, I’ll be doing just that for not one, but two books.

As it’s autumn, I’m going to review two spooky, magical reads (one of which I included on my list of witchy reads last week). These is by one of my favourite and completely underrated authors, Moïra Fowley-Doyle. Both of her books have casually diverse sexualities, magic and complex women, so essentially they’re amazing for when the nights are growing darker and there’s an almost magical feeling in the air.

Spellbook of the Lost and Found Review:

30079439

 

 

One stormy summer night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. It starts with simple items like hair clips and jewellery, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something bigger; something she won’t talk about.

Then Olive meets three wild, mysterious strangers: Ivy, Hazel and Rowan. Like Rose, they’re mourning losses – and holding tight to secrets.

When they discover the ancient spellbook, full of hand-inked charms to conjure back lost things, they realise it might be their chance to set everything right. Unless it’s leading them towards secrets that were never meant to be found . . .

My Thoughts:

This was absolutely amazing. I love the mix of fantastical imagery and this absolutely gorgeous style of writing.

The way that she blends fantasy and reality is simply astounding. In a similar way, she blends otherworldly imagery and really raw and honest prose to weave this intoxicating tale that seems to put a spell on you.

Also I loved how all the heads of different stories end up intertwining and it just draws you into this fantastical world of mystery, magic and secrets.

Every character you meet brings in a new piece of the puzzle, even if it does take a while to figure out all the narrators (there’s multiple narratives).

The f/f romance in this is so sweet and you can’t help but hoping that they end up together. The way Moïra writes the relationship is so natural and casual as well, which is refreshing to see in YA.


The Accident Season Review:

51C9+CYrefL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish all dangers to locked drawers – but injuries follow wherever they go and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

My Thoughts:

To put it simply, this is one of those books that just grabs you and refuses to let go.

This book is simply brilliant. It is edgy, dark and there are twists that will really shock and surprise you.

I adored the dreamy fairy-tale sequences that blurred between fantasy and reality; they just added this sense of magic to the dark plot. Fowley-Doyle’s writing style is just so beautiful and lyrical that I physically couldn’t put the book down. It’s packed full of exquisite imagery, magic and secrets.

This book is perfect for a cold, wintery day when you just want to snuggle up inside and I would strongly recommend it for fans of We Were Liars or The Graces.

The Accident Season is a darkly beautiful tale with an ethereal, magical tone, strong narrative and twists that leave you breathless.

Over To You:

Have you read any of Moïra Fowley-Doyle’s books? If so, what did you think of them?

Or have you read any witchy or magical books lately?

2 thoughts on “Mini Moïra Fowley-Doyle Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s